dbotmakerthe decision bot
Software & AI · Ranking

10 Best LLM APIs of 2026

By the DBotMaker research desk · Updated November 7, 2026 · Next review December 22, 2026 · 10 products compared

Ranked firstGoogle Gemini APIDevelopers who want a free tier to prototype on, very low per-token prices and long context in one API.9.2

Spec sheet

Vendor-documented specs. Click a column to sort.

ProductFree plan or trialSetupMax context
1Google Gemini API9.2$0.10Free planGemini API, Batch API, Live API, Google AI StudioGoogle Search and Google Maps grounding, code execution, file searchSelf-serve1M tokens
2OpenAI API9.1$0.10NoResponses API, Batch API, Realtime API, Agents SDKWeb search, file search, computer use, MCP connectionsSelf-serve1.05M tokens
3Anthropic API8.9$0.10NoClaude API, Batch API, AWS, Google Cloud, Microsoft FoundryWeb search, web fetch, code execution, MCPSelf-serve1M tokens
4DeepSeek API8.9$0.30NoOpenAI format, Anthropic format, Responses APIClaude Code, Codex, OpenCode and other agent integrationsSelf-serve1M tokens
5Groq8.7$0.15Free planOpenAI compatibility, Responses API, Batch, FlexCode execution, browser search, remote MCP connectorsSelf-serve131,072 tokens
6xAI API8.6$2NoREST API, Batch API, Voice API, Imagine APIWeb search, X search, code execution, remote MCPSelf-serve500K tokens
7Fireworks AI8.5$0.05NoServerless, On-demand GPUs, Reserved capacity, Serverless trainingNot publishedBothVaries by model
8Mistral AI8.5$0.50NoAPI, Batch, Mistral Studio100+ connectors in VibeBothNot published
9Together AI8.5$0.15NoServerless, Batch, Dedicated inference, GPU clustersNot publishedBothVaries by model
10Amazon Bedrock8.2Check priceNoAWS, Bedrock AgentCore, Managed agentsHundreds of foundation modelsSelf-serveVaries by model

The short version

The Google Gemini API ranks first because it combines a free tier, 1M-token context and paid text input from $0.10 per 1M tokens with spend-based rate limit tiers that upgrade on their own. The OpenAI API is a close second with the broadest built-in tools and a 1.05M-token context, and GPT-6 Luna matches Gemini's entry price at $0.10. Anthropic's API leads for long-context and coding agents, with stacking batch and caching discounts. DeepSeek is the value pick at $0.30 per 1M input tokens at peak and half that off-peak with 1M context. Groq is the fastest open-model host with a free plan, xAI keeps choice simple with Grok 4.7, Fireworks AI and Together AI serve open models at the lowest prices we verified, Mistral AI adds open weights, and Amazon Bedrock is for teams that want every model under AWS governance.

Short answer

The Google Gemini API is the best LLM API for developers who want a free tier, 1M-token context and low token prices in 2026; the OpenAI API suits teams that want the widest built-in tools, and the Anthropic API suits coding and long-document work. The cheapest verified option is Fireworks AI, where NVIDIA Nemotron 3.5 Lightning costs $0.05 per 1M input tokens.

This list is for developers picking a model API for a production app. We compared three things that decide cost and reliability once traffic arrives: price per token, context window and rate limits. Seven entries are first-party model vendors and three are inference platforms that host open models or many providers. Prices are pay-as-you-go USD rates from each vendor's own pricing page or docs, and the starting price is the input price per 1M tokens for the model named in each entry; output tokens usually cost three to five times more. We compared documented features and published prices and scored capabilities at 40%, ease of setup at 30% and value at 30%.

Figures worth knowing

The ranking at a glance

  1. 1Google Gemini APIDevelopers who want a free tier to prototype on, very low per-token prices and long context in one API.9.2
  2. 2OpenAI APIProduct teams that want the widest set of built-in tools, agents and voice models from one vendor.9.1
  3. 3Anthropic APITeams building coding tools, agents and long-document apps that want a 1M-token context at standard pricing.8.9
  4. 4DeepSeek APICost-focused teams that want 1M-token context at some of the lowest published token prices.8.9
  5. 5GroqDevelopers who need very fast open-model inference and a free plan with published rate limits.8.7
  6. 6xAI APITeams that want one flagship model for code and chat with a 500K context and low output prices.8.6
  7. 7Fireworks AITeams serving open models in production who want serverless prices now and dedicated capacity later.8.5
  8. 8Mistral AITeams that want a European vendor with open-weight models they can also self-host.8.5
  9. 9Together AITeams that want a large open-model catalog plus fine-tuning and GPUs from the same provider.8.5
  10. 10Amazon BedrockCompanies already on AWS that want many model providers under one bill, IAM and compliance setup.8.2

How we make the call

Every entry gets a 0 to 10 rating on the three criteria below, and the order follows the weighted total. The ratings rest on the documented features and published prices on each maker's own pages, never hands-on testing.

  • 40%Capabilities
  • 30%Ease of setup
  • 30%Value

See the full method

  1. No. 1, top ranked

    Google Gemini API

    Google's developer API for the Gemini model family, with a free tier, paid tiers and 1M-token context models.

    9.2of 10

    Best for Developers who want a free tier to prototype on, very low per-token prices and long context in one API.

    Capabilities
    9.2
    Ease of setup
    9.0
    Value
    9.3

    Price

    Free tier on many models; paid from $0.10 per 1M input tokens on Gemini 2.5 Flash-Lite

    Quoted from the Google Gemini API pricing page on November 7, 2026: Input price (text, image, video) * Free of charge * $0.10 (text / image / video) $0.30 (audio)

    The Gemini API is the strongest all-round pick for teams that care about price per token and context length at the same time. Google publishes a free tier where input and output are free of charge on many models, so a prototype can run without a card. Paid prices are low: Gemini 2.5 Flash-Lite costs $0.10 per 1M text input tokens and Gemini 3.5 Flash-Lite $0.30 in and $2.50 out, while the flagship Gemini 4 Argon offers a 1M-token context and long decodes. Each model has Standard, Batch, Flex and Priority modes, and tools such as Google Search grounding include 5,000 free requests a month on Gemini 3 and newer models before per-request fees. Rate limits follow tiers: Tier 1 needs a linked billing account, Tier 2 needs $100 paid plus 3 days, and Tier 3 needs $1,000 plus 30 days. The trade-off is complexity: there are many models and modes, thinking tokens are billed, and the top model is paid only.

    What it does well

    • +The only major first-party API here with a real free tier
    • +1M-token context on Gemini 4 Argon and other current models
    • +Spend-based tiers upgrade automatically once billing is linked

    Where it falls short

    • −Gemini 4 Argon is not available on the free tier
    • −Thinking tokens and tool system instructions are billed as tokens
    • −Many model versions and processing modes make cost estimates harder
    Cheapest paid text input
    $0.10 per 1M tokens (Gemini 2.5 Flash-Lite)
    Gemini 3.5 Flash-Lite
    $0.30 in, $2.50 out per 1M tokens
    Context
    1M tokens on Gemini 4 Argon
    Tier 2
    Paid $100 plus 3 days from first payment

    Visit ai.google.dev|Read the full Google Gemini API profile

  2. No. 2

    OpenAI API

    OpenAI's platform for GPT models, with the Responses API, built-in tools, realtime voice and batch processing.

    9.1of 10

    Best for Product teams that want the widest set of built-in tools, agents and voice models from one vendor.

    Capabilities
    9.4
    Ease of setup
    9.1
    Value
    8.7

    Price

    Pay as you go; GPT-6 Luna costs $0.10 per 1M input tokens and $0.50 per 1M output tokens

    Quoted from the OpenAI API pricing page on November 7, 2026: GPT-6 Luna Our most efficient model for focused, high-volume tasks. Price Input: $0.10 / 1M tokens

    The OpenAI API remains the most complete platform for building production features, and its price ladder now runs from very cheap to premium. GPT-6 Luna costs $0.10 per 1M input tokens and $0.50 per 1M output tokens, GPT-6.1 Terra $1 and $5, GPT-6.1 Sol $2 and $10, and GPT-6 Astra $10 and $50. The models page lists a 1.05M-token context window and 128K maximum output across the GPT-6 family. Built-in tools include web search, file search and computer use, and the platform adds realtime voice, transcription and image models. Cost controls are good: the Batch API cuts input and output prices by 50%, flex processing trades speed for price, and you can set a monthly budget per project. Rate limits rise through Free, Build, Launch and Grow tiers as credit purchases pass $5, $100 and $500. Note that standard rates apply under 272K context, and there is no free API tier.

    What it does well

    • +The broadest tool and agent surface of any vendor on this list
    • +1.05M-token context window across the GPT-6 models
    • +Monthly budget and per-project billing limits in the dashboard

    Where it falls short

    • −Top model GPT-6 Astra costs $10 in and $50 out per 1M tokens
    • −Listed prices apply to context lengths under 272K
    • −No free tier for API calls; ChatGPT plans are billed separately
    GPT-6 Luna
    $0.10 in, $0.50 out per 1M tokens
    GPT-6.1 Sol
    $2 in, $10 out per 1M tokens
    Context window
    1.05M tokens
    Usage tiers
    Free, Build ($5), Launch ($100), Grow ($500 in credit purchases)

    Visit openai.com|Read the full OpenAI API profile

  3. No. 3

    Anthropic API

    Anthropic's Claude Platform API for the Claude model family, also offered through AWS, Google Cloud and Microsoft Foundry.

    8.9of 10

    Best for Teams building coding tools, agents and long-document apps that want a 1M-token context at standard pricing.

    Capabilities
    9.3
    Ease of setup
    8.9
    Value
    8.4

    Price

    Pay as you go; Claude Haiku 5.5 costs $0.10 per 1M input tokens for prompts up to 100,000 tokens

    Quoted from the Anthropic API pricing page on November 7, 2026: Claude Haiku 5.5 For high-volume, latency-sensitive tasks such as classification, extraction, and routing $0.10 / MTok for prompts up to 100,000 tokens

    Anthropic's API is the strongest choice for long-context and agentic work where per-token price is not the only factor. Claude Haiku 5.5 costs $0.10 per 1M input tokens and $0.50 per 1M output tokens for prompts up to 100,000 tokens, Claude Sonnet 5.5 costs $2 and $10, and Claude Opus 5.5 $4 and $20. The models overview lists a 1M-token context window and 128K max output on current models, and Claude 4.6 and later models other than Haiku 5.5 bill the full 1M window at standard rates. Prompt caching charges cache hits at 5% of the input price, the Batch API halves prices, and the two discounts stack. Code execution is free when paired with web search or web fetch. Rate limits are set by usage tier, with monthly spend caps of $500 on Start, $1,000 on Build and $200,000 on Scale, which new apps can outgrow quickly. Haiku 5.5 input also rises from $0.10 to $0.50 per 1M tokens above 100,000-token prompts.

    What it does well

    • +Full 1M context at standard pricing on Claude 4.6 and later, except Haiku 5.5
    • +Discounts for batch and caching stack
    • +Same models on three major clouds

    Where it falls short

    • −Haiku 5.5 input costs five times more for prompts over 100,000 tokens
    • −Monthly spend caps per tier, starting at $500 on the Start tier
    • −Only a small amount of free credits for new users
    Claude Haiku 5.5
    $0.10 in, $0.50 out per 1M tokens up to 100K prompts
    Claude Sonnet 5.5
    $2 in, $10 out per 1M tokens
    Context window
    1M tokens, 128K max output
    Spend caps
    Start $500, Build $1,000, Scale $200,000 a month

    Visit anthropic.com|Read the full Anthropic API profile

  4. No. 4

    DeepSeek API

    DeepSeek's API for its Flash and V4 Pro models, with OpenAI-format and Anthropic-format endpoints.

    8.9of 10

    Best for Cost-focused teams that want 1M-token context at some of the lowest published token prices.

    Capabilities
    8.4
    Ease of setup
    8.8
    Value
    9.6

    Price

    Pay as you go; deepseek-flash costs $0.30 per 1M input tokens (cache miss) at peak and $0.15 off-peak

    Quoted from the DeepSeek API pricing page on November 7, 2026: 1M INPUT TOKENS (CACHE MISS) OFF-PEAK $0.15 $0.66 PEAK $0.3 $1.32

    DeepSeek's API is the value pick for teams that want long context without paying frontier prices. The deepseek-flash model costs $0.30 per 1M input tokens on a cache miss and $1.20 per 1M output tokens at peak, and off-peak rates are half that. Cache hits drop input to $0.006 per 1M tokens at peak and $0.003 off-peak. Both deepseek-flash and deepseek-v4-pro support a 1M-token context and up to 384K output, with JSON output, tool calls and a thinking mode. Base URLs in OpenAI and Anthropic formats let existing SDKs and agent tools point at DeepSeek with a config change. Instead of token-per-minute tiers, DeepSeek publishes concurrency limits of 2,500 for Flash and 500 for V4 Pro. The catches: peak hours fall on weekday mornings UTC, so bills depend on timing; V4 Pro has no vision support; and the lineup is small next to OpenAI or Google.

    What it does well

    • +Very low prices, especially on cache hits and off-peak hours
    • +Drop-in endpoints for OpenAI and Anthropic SDKs
    • +Concurrency limits of 2,500 for Flash and 500 for V4 Pro

    Where it falls short

    • −Peak and off-peak pricing makes bills harder to predict
    • −Vision is not supported on deepseek-v4-pro
    • −A small model lineup compared with larger vendors
    deepseek-flash input (cache miss)
    $0.30 peak, $0.15 off-peak per 1M tokens
    deepseek-flash output
    $1.20 peak, $0.60 off-peak per 1M tokens
    Context length
    1M tokens, max output 384K
    Concurrency limit
    2,500 (Flash), 500 (V4 Pro)

    Visit deepseek.com|Read the full DeepSeek API profile

  5. No. 5

    Groq

    GroqCloud inference API running open models on Groq's LPU hardware, with an OpenAI-compatible endpoint.

    8.7of 10

    Best for Developers who need very fast open-model inference and a free plan with published rate limits.

    Capabilities
    8.0
    Ease of setup
    9.0
    Value
    9.2

    Price

    Free plan; developer plan from $0.15 per 1M input tokens on GPT OSS 120B

    Quoted from the Groq pricing page on November 7, 2026: openai/gpt-oss-120b 500 $0.15 input $0.60 output 250K TPM 1K RPM 131,072

    Groq is the speed specialist on this list. GroqCloud runs open models on Groq's own LPU hardware and publishes a speed figure for each one: about 500 tokens per second for GPT OSS 120B and 1,000 for GPT OSS 20B. Prices are low, at $0.15 in and $0.60 out per 1M tokens for GPT OSS 120B and $0.075 and $0.30 for GPT OSS 20B. Groq is also clear on rate limits. The models page lists developer plan limits of 250K tokens per minute and 1K requests per minute for the GPT OSS models, and the rate limits page lists a free plan with its own caps, such as 30 RPM and 200K tokens per day on GPT OSS 20B. The API is OpenAI compatible and supports batch and flex service tiers. The limits are context, around 131K tokens on GPT OSS, and model choice: there are no closed frontier models, and some catalog models are sales-only.

    What it does well

    • +Speed figures are published for every production model
    • +A free plan with clear RPM, RPD and TPM limits
    • +Developer plan limits of 250K TPM and 1K RPM on GPT OSS models

    Where it falls short

    • −Context windows top out around 131K to 197K tokens
    • −No first-party frontier closed models
    • −Some Llama and MiniMax models are contact-sales only
    GPT OSS 120B
    $0.15 in, $0.60 out per 1M tokens
    GPT OSS 20B
    $0.075 in, $0.30 out per 1M tokens
    Developer plan limits
    250K TPM, 1K RPM on GPT OSS models
    Context window
    131,072 tokens on GPT OSS models

    Visit groq.com|Read the full Groq profile

  6. No. 6

    xAI API

    xAI's API for Grok 4.7 plus voice, image and video models, with tiered rate limits based on spend.

    8.6of 10

    Best for Teams that want one flagship model for code and chat with a 500K context and low output prices.

    Capabilities
    8.5
    Ease of setup
    8.7
    Value
    8.6

    Price

    Pay as you go; Grok 4.7 costs $2.00 per 1M input tokens and $6.00 per 1M output tokens

    Quoted from the xAI API pricing page on November 7, 2026: grok-4.7 Our flagship model for code and everything else: agentic tool calling, minimal hallucinations, configurable reasoning. Context 500k tokens Input $2.00 / 1M tokens

    xAI keeps its API simple: Grok 4.7 is the recommended model for code, chat and everything else outside media. It costs $2.00 per 1M input tokens and $6.00 per 1M output tokens with a 500K-token context and configurable reasoning, which makes output cheaper than most flagship rivals. Server-side tools cover web search, X search, code execution and remote MCP, and the platform adds a batch API, deferred completions, prompt caching and regional endpoints. A Voice API and Imagine API handle speech, images and video. Rate limits scale through tiers based on cumulative spend since January 1, 2026: Tier 0 at $0, then $50, $250, $1,000 and $5,000, and xAI says tiers never downgrade. The gaps are a missing budget model for high-volume tasks and a context window half the size of the leaders. Grok also has no knowledge of current events unless search tools are on.

    What it does well

    • +One recommended model for code, chat and tools keeps choice simple
    • +Output at $6 per 1M tokens is low for a flagship model
    • +Tiers rise automatically at $50, $250, $1,000 and $5,000 in spend

    Where it falls short

    • −No small, cheap text model in the current lineup
    • −500K context is half that of OpenAI, Google and Anthropic
    • −No access to current events unless search tools are enabled
    Grok 4.7
    $2.00 in, $6.00 out per 1M tokens
    Context
    500K tokens
    Knowledge cutoff
    May 2026
    Rate limit tiers
    Tier 0 at $0 to Tier 4 at $5,000 cumulative spend

    Visit x.ai|Read the full xAI API profile

  7. No. 7

    Fireworks AI

    An inference platform for open models with serverless, on-demand GPU and reserved capacity options.

    8.5of 10

    Best for Teams serving open models in production who want serverless prices now and dedicated capacity later.

    Capabilities
    8.4
    Ease of setup
    8.2
    Value
    9.0

    Price

    Pay as you go; serverless from $0.05 per 1M input tokens on NVIDIA Nemotron 3.5 Lightning 30B A3B

    Quoted from the Fireworks AI pricing page on November 7, 2026: NVIDIA Nemotron 3.5 Lightning 30B A3B $0.05 $0.01 $0.20

    Fireworks AI is a production inference platform for open models, and it lists the lowest verified serverless price on this list: NVIDIA Nemotron 3.5 Lightning 30B A3B at $0.05 per 1M input tokens and $0.20 per 1M output tokens. Larger models are priced in the same table, such as GPT OSS 120B at $0.15 and $0.60 or Kimi K3 at $3.00 and $15.00, each with a cached input rate and a priority rate. Spot capacity runs 30% below standard on select models, and US-only serverless costs a 50% premium where offered. When traffic is steady, Fireworks offers on-demand GPUs and reserved capacity with a throughput SLA and 99.9% uptime terms. Account quotas follow spending tiers, from a $50 monthly limit on Tier 1 to $50,000 on Tier 4. The caveats are spot capacity that can fall to zero, frequent catalog changes and context limits that vary by model.

    What it does well

    • +The lowest verified input price on this list at $0.05 per 1M tokens
    • +Clear path from serverless to on-demand and reserved GPUs
    • +Spending tiers up to $50,000 a month before contacting sales

    Where it falls short

    • −Spot capacity can drop to zero and needs retries
    • −Model catalog and prices change often
    • −Context limits are set per model rather than one headline figure
    Nemotron 3.5 Lightning 30B A3B
    $0.05 in, $0.20 out per 1M tokens
    GPT OSS 120B
    $0.15 in, $0.60 out per 1M tokens
    Spot rates
    30% off standard on select models
    Spending tiers
    Tier 1 $50 to Tier 4 $50,000 monthly limit

    Visit fireworks.ai|Read the full Fireworks AI profile

  8. No. 8

    Mistral AI

    Mistral's API and Studio for its own models, including open-weight Mistral Large 4 and Apache 2.0 Mistral Small 4.

    8.5of 10

    Best for Teams that want a European vendor with open-weight models they can also self-host.

    Capabilities
    8.2
    Ease of setup
    8.5
    Value
    8.8

    Price

    Pay as you go; Mistral Large costs $0.50 per 1M input tokens and $1.50 per 1M output tokens

    Quoted from the Mistral AI pricing page on November 7, 2026: For example, Mistral Large costs $0.5 /M tokens in and $1.5 /M tokens out.

    Mistral AI is the European option on this list and the one most focused on open weights. Its pricing FAQ gives Mistral Large at $0.50 per 1M input tokens and $1.50 per 1M output tokens, a low price for a flagship model, and says batch processing cuts prices by 50% and cached input by up to 90%. The models overview lists Mistral Large 4 as an open-weight general-purpose multimodal model and Mistral Small 4 under Apache 2.0, so teams can move a workload to their own hardware later. The same platform carries OCR, Voxtral speech and moderation models, and Mistral Studio tracks API calls and spend. Mistral also sells consumer and coding plans under the Vibe brand. The weak spots for a developer comparing APIs are documentation gaps: the pages we checked did not state context windows for the main models or publish rate limit tiers, and several model versions have retirement dates within months.

    What it does well

    • +A flagship model at $0.50 in and $1.50 out per 1M tokens
    • +Open-weight licenses allow self-hosting
    • +Usage tracking in the Mistral Studio dashboard

    Where it falls short

    • −Context windows are not stated on the models overview we checked
    • −Published rate limit tiers were not available when we checked
    • −Several model versions retire within months
    Mistral Large
    $0.50 in, $1.50 out per 1M tokens
    Batch discount
    50%
    Cached input
    Up to 90% cheaper
    Licenses
    Apache 2.0 (Small 4), Mistral open weight (Large 4)

    Visit mistral.ai|Read the full Mistral AI profile

  9. No. 9

    Together AI

    An AI cloud for open models with serverless and batch inference, dedicated endpoints, fine-tuning and GPU clusters.

    8.5of 10

    Best for Teams that want a large open-model catalog plus fine-tuning and GPUs from the same provider.

    Capabilities
    8.4
    Ease of setup
    8.3
    Value
    8.8

    Price

    Pay as you go; GLM-5.3-Flash costs $0.15 per 1M input tokens and $0.50 per 1M output tokens

    Quoted from the Together AI pricing page on November 7, 2026: GLM-5.3-Flash $0.15 $0.03 (cached) $0.50

    Together AI fits teams that want open models and the infrastructure around them in one account. Its pricing table covers models from Z.ai, Moonshot, MiniMax, Qwen, NVIDIA and DeepSeek, with GLM-5.3-Flash at $0.15 per 1M input tokens and $0.50 per 1M output tokens, DeepSeek V4.1 Flash at $0.30 and $1.20, and Kimi K3 at $3.00 and $15.00. Most rows also list a cached input price. Beyond serverless, Together sells batch inference, provisioned throughput with SLAs, dedicated inference, fine-tuning and GPU clusters, so a team can train and serve on the same platform. On rate limits, Together's docs say most users can use serverless inference without hitting them, with limits only under high volume or bursts and custom limits on high-demand models. The downsides are a long, shifting price list and context limits that vary by model.

    What it does well

    • +A broad catalog including GLM, Kimi, MiniMax, Qwen and DeepSeek models
    • +Fine-tuning and GPU clusters next to inference
    • +Together says most serverless users do not hit rate limits

    Where it falls short

    • −Limits can tighten on models in high demand
    • −Pricing table is long and changes with the catalog
    • −Context window depends on each hosted model
    GLM-5.3-Flash
    $0.15 in, $0.50 out per 1M tokens
    DeepSeek V4.1 Flash
    $0.30 in, $1.20 out per 1M tokens
    Kimi K3
    $3.00 in, $15.00 out per 1M tokens
    Products
    Serverless, batch, provisioned throughput, fine-tuning, GPU clusters

    Visit together.ai|Read the full Together AI profile

  10. No. 10

    Amazon Bedrock

    AWS's managed service for foundation models from many providers, with agents, guardrails and model customization.

    8.2of 10

    Best for Companies already on AWS that want many model providers under one bill, IAM and compliance setup.

    Capabilities
    9.0
    Ease of setup
    7.4
    Value
    7.8

    Price

    See vendor pricing (USD check pending)

    No US price was listed when we checked. See the Amazon Bedrock pricing page.

    Amazon Bedrock is the aggregator choice for companies that run on AWS. AWS says Bedrock gives access to hundreds of foundation models from leading AI companies and powers generative AI for more than 100,000 organizations. Instead of signing a contract with each model vendor, a team calls models through AWS with its existing IAM roles, logging and billing. Bedrock adds agent tooling through AgentCore, a managed agents option powered by OpenAI models, and automated reasoning checks to flag incorrect answers. For cost, AWS lists model distillation, prompt caching and intelligent prompt routing, and says routing can cut costs by up to 30%. AWS also states that Bedrock never stores or uses your data to train models. The trade-offs are setup weight, since you work through AWS accounts and regions, and price transparency: per-model prices did not load as text on the pricing page from our location, so we list them as pending.

    What it does well

    • +Many model providers under one AWS bill and contract
    • +Bedrock does not store or use your data to train models
    • +Fits existing IAM, logging and compliance setups

    Where it falls short

    • −Prices did not load as text on the pricing page we checked
    • −Setup through AWS accounts and IAM is heavier than a plain API key
    • −Model availability varies by AWS region
    Organizations
    More than 100,000
    Prompt routing
    Can cut costs by up to 30%
    Distilled models
    Up to 500% faster and up to 75% cheaper
    Agents
    Bedrock AgentCore and managed agents powered by OpenAI

    Visit aws.amazon.com|Read the full Amazon Bedrock profile

Before you pick a product or a plan

Compare input and output prices together

Headline prices usually quote input tokens, but output costs more: GPT-6 Luna is $0.10 in and $0.50 out per 1M tokens, Grok 4.7 is $2.00 in and $6.00 out, and DeepSeek Flash is $0.30 in and $1.20 out at peak. Estimate your ratio of prompt to completion tokens, then price both sides.

Check how context is priced, not only how big it is

OpenAI lists a 1.05M-token window but standard rates apply under 272K. Anthropic bills the full 1M window at standard rates on Claude 4.6 and later models except Haiku 5.5, which costs more above 100,000-token prompts. DeepSeek offers 1M tokens, xAI 500K and Groq's GPT OSS models about 131K.

Read the rate limit tiers before launch

Most vendors raise limits as you spend. OpenAI moves from Build to Grow as credit purchases pass $5, $100 and $500, xAI tiers run from $0 to $5,000 in cumulative spend, and Anthropic caps monthly spend at $500 on its Start tier. DeepSeek uses concurrency limits instead, at 2,500 for Flash.

Use batch and caching discounts

OpenAI, Anthropic and Mistral all cut prices by 50% for batch jobs. Anthropic charges cache hits at 5% of the input price and Mistral says cached input is up to 90% cheaper. DeepSeek halves prices off-peak. For background work, these discounts often matter more than the list price.

Decide between a model vendor and a host

First-party APIs from Google, OpenAI, Anthropic, xAI, DeepSeek and Mistral give you their newest models first. Hosts such as Groq, Fireworks AI and Together AI serve open models at low prices with options for dedicated capacity, and Amazon Bedrock puts many providers behind one AWS account.

Questions readers ask

What is the best LLM API in 2026?
The Google Gemini API ranks first on our list for its free tier, 1M-token context and paid input from $0.10 per 1M tokens. The OpenAI API is a close second for teams that want built-in web search, file search and computer use.
Which LLM API is the cheapest?
The lowest verified price on this list is Fireworks AI's NVIDIA Nemotron 3.5 Lightning 30B A3B at $0.05 per 1M input tokens. Among first-party vendors, Gemini 2.5 Flash-Lite, GPT-6 Luna and Claude Haiku 5.5 each start at $0.10 per 1M input tokens, and DeepSeek Flash costs $0.15 off-peak.
Which LLM API has a free tier?
The Gemini API has a free tier where input and output are free of charge on many models, and Groq publishes a free plan with per-model limits. Anthropic gives new users a small amount of free credits to test the API.
Which LLM APIs offer a 1M-token context window?
OpenAI lists 1.05M tokens for its GPT-6 models, and Anthropic, Google and DeepSeek offer 1M tokens on current models. xAI's Grok 4.7 has 500K tokens and Groq's GPT OSS models about 131K.
How do LLM API rate limits work?
Most vendors place you in a tier that rises with spend. OpenAI uses Free, Build, Launch and Grow tiers, xAI uses Tier 0 to Tier 4 from $0 to $5,000 in cumulative spend, and Anthropic sets monthly spend caps starting at $500. DeepSeek limits concurrent requests instead.

Spotted an error or a price change? Write to editorial@dbotmaker.io

Nobody paid to appear here and none of the links earn us money. Details are in our editorial policy. Makers change prices, plans and terms often, so check the price on their site before you buy or upgrade.

More rankings